The Project Pays Off!

July 26, 2010 at 11:25 am | Posted in Theory | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

Handle enough money and you are sure to encounter some pieces that have some value to collectors.  Of course, you might not recognize them when you see them.  There is a numismatist who has a habit of putting valuable coins into circulation in an effort to get people interested in coin collecting.  He also has an article on finding valuable coins in your pocket change.

Luckily, I didn’t have to look very close to determine that the $2 note the teller handed me was special.  The red seal virtually jumped off the bill.

Closer inspection indicates that it is a 1963 $2 United States Note in (what I esteem to be) “Very Fine” condition.  E-bay listings have asking prices for similar bills as high as $25.  I don’t think I’ll be selling it any time soon, but I DEFINITELY will not spend it.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have so far received two of those red seal notes from banks. One is a Series 1953B; it lacks “In God We Trust” on the rear, and has “Will Pay to the Bearer on Demand” sandwiched in between “The United States of America” and “Two Dollars” on the front. One corner of the note has been torn off and the note itself is quite worn (from being in circulation for over 50 years). I also have an even more tattered Series 1953C note, with some bits missing on the right side, like someone stapled it to something and tore it off. Both notes are Star Notes, though, which makes them even cooler. I don’t plan to spend them, ever, because I know how rare they are these days.

  2. have you heard about the artist who put a homemade solid gold penny into circulation? http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/11/04/maker-learns-the-fate-of-a-penny-made-of-gold/

    • Very sweet article. I recommend it highly.

  3. […] 27, 2010 at 11:26 am | Posted in Other, Theory | Leave a Comment So I am very excited about this 1963 $2 note.  The reverse is SWEET.Here are a few notes on the […]


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.